ASAM CRITERIA

$37.00
Screen-Shot-2019-02-20-at-8.34.38-PM-e1551482847187
Screen-Shot-2019-02-20-at-8.34.38-PM-e1551482847187

COURSE OVERVIEW

The focus of this webinar is to provide an overview of the American Society of Addiction Medicine (ASAM) criteria and its dimensions. Following a case presentation, the learners will review each dimension in the format of a comprehensive clinical substance use disorder assessment. We will review all the information that is needed to recommend an appropriate level of care and discuss the reasons for our recommendations. The goal is to have an understanding of how the ASAM criteria are determined by following a mock case through each dimension.

COURSE OBJECTIVES

  • Review the content needed to assess the ASAM level of care.
  • Follow the creation of a 6 dimension substance abuse assessment.
  • Discuss how risk ratings are determined;
  • Determine the level of care.
  • Review the different levels of care for substance abuse treatment.

Target Audience: Psychologists, Social Workers, Addiction Counselors, LMFT, & Licensed Professional Counselors

Content level: Beginner to intermediate

2 CE hour credits approved by NAADAC, ASWB,  & NBCC

State Board Approval
TX 2041-19
LA-ADRA AEP # E105
ADACBGA # 19-12-17-1212
FCB # 5387-A
VCB EP # 143
OCDP Board # 20- in process

Course Features

  • Lectures 2
  • Quizzes 0
  • Duration 2 hours
  • Skill level All levels
  • Language English
  • Students 61
  • Certificate Yes
  • Assessments Yes
Heather Connors, LCAS, MAC
Heather Connors LCAS, MAC is a Licensed Clinical Addiction Specialist in North Carolina and has the Master Addiction Counselor accreditation from NAADAC. She currently works for the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill as a substance abuse consultant for the UNC Medical Center and the UNC Department of Psychiatry. She earned a bachelors in Women’s Studies from the University of Massachusetts at Amherst and a Masters in Mental Health Counseling from Argosy University, Seattle. She has a certification in Non-Profit Management from the University of Washington, Seattle and is an ARISE trained interventionist. Heather has worked extensively with pregnant and parenting women in the inpatient, outpatient and detoxification levels of care. She has been working with Medication Assisted Treatment (MAT) for 13 years and most recently trained primary care providers on how to integrate MAT into their clinics. She has specific interest in Harm Reduction, Motivational Interviewing and Stages of Change.
$37.00

Wednesday, July 15, 2020 at 4:00-6:00 PM EST.

3:00-5:00 PM Central Time

2:00-4:00 PM Mountain time

1:00-3:00 PM Pacific Time

12:00-2:00 PM Alaska time

11:00 AM -1:00 PM Hawaii time